Follow Us For News and Exclusive Discounts :





product image

Marvel Masterworks : Golden Age Daring Mystery Volume 1 Variant

Following the phenomenal success of Marvel Comics #1, Timely released its second superhero anthology Daring Mystery Comics, in January 1940. This hardcover collection re-masters and restores these early adventures that introduce brand-new characters into the Marvel mythos (several of whom will be appearing in The Twelve by J. Michael Straczynski and Chris Weston).

See the startling introduction of the Fiery Mask where he faces the fantastic thriller of the walking corpses. Soldier of fortune John Steel sneaks behind enemy lines. The Phantom Bullet, scourge of the underworld, faces off against a dastardly band of Head Hunters. District Attorney Dennis Burton decides to take the law into his own hands as the Laughing Mask and then later as the Purple Mask. Meet the Phantom Reporter - cub reporter by day, Scourge of the underworld by night.

Plus: the Texas Kid; Monako, Prince of Magic; Flash Foster, Phantom of the Underworld, Barney Mullen, Sea Rover; Zephyr Jones and his rocket ship; Trojak the Tiger Man; Captain K-4 and his Sky Devils; Mr. E; Dale of the FBI; Breeze Barton in the Miracle City; Marvex the Super-Robot; Captain Strong of the Foreign Legion; Whirlwind Carte of the Interplanetary Secret Service; and more!

Written and illustrated by Joe Simon, Will Harr, Maurice Gutwirth, Mike Robard, Sam Cooper, Dean Carr, Ben Thompson, Larry Antonette, Ray Gill, Bob Wood, Charles Pearson, Joe Cal Cagno, Fred Schwarz, Gregory Sykes, Russell A. Bankson and Phil Sturm, with a cover Alex Schomburg

Marvel, hardback, 272 pages, published January 2008

Please note variant editions go out are produced in smaller numbers and so can go out of print much more quickly than normal Masterworks, so order early to avoid disappointment


£53.99  £36.1733 %

Add to Cart:

Stock on the way soon