Basket
£0.00
product image


The Times of Botchan Volume 2

Natsuo Sekigawa
Jiro Taniguchi

The Meija Era (1868-1912) was probably the most defining period in Japanese history. It was a time of massive change from the more traditional; Takugawa era to a positioning of Japan in the modern world. Contemporary writer, Soseki Natsume, suffered due to all the social and cultural changes and expressed his feelings through his character Botchan, a classic in the vein of Mark Twain or Charles Dickens.

 

This massive work over 10 volumes could, in other hands, have been but an informed text book. However, the solid script by Sekigawa explores the period through an adult story whilst the art by Taniguchi portrays the material with exquisite and elegant detail. An internationally renowned work finally becoming available in English.

 

Fanfare/Ponent Mon, paperback, 144 pages, published December 2005

This product was added to our catalog on Friday 26 May, 2006.

£10.99
£8.24
Save: 25%



Add to Cart:

  • Model: G9561

Stock on the way soon