cleste

Upcoming… INJ Culbard, Rob Davis, Hicks, Kochalka….

Published On December 8, 2013 | By Richard Bruton | Comics, Previews, Upcoming

More Upcoming…. books you really do need to keep an eye out for over the next few months.. 

New from SelfMadeHero and INJ Culbard, writing and drawing his latest work Celeste, due for release in April 2014:

“In London, the moment two commuters, Aaron and Lilly, lay eyes on each another on a packed Monday morning tube train, everyone else around them vanishes. In Los Angeles, Ray is sitting in gridlock on the 405 Freeway when he receives a call from an LAPD officer with news about his wife. Ray fears the worst. But just as the officer is about to give Ray the news, he is cut off. The caller has disappeared, and so has everyone else around him. Everyone except for a badly beaten man tied up in the trunk of another car. In Japan, comic artist Yoshi has come to the Aokigahara Forest to hang himself. But just as he lifts his head to the noose, a voice startles him. Yoshi falls, and the noose misses his chin. Having slid free, he realises that the world has changed: there is no sign of human life – but the forest is alive with mythical creatures. Taking us through the deserted streets of London, the empty freeways of Los Angeles, and the dream world of the Aokigahara Forest, the three stories of Celeste raise life’s central questions: Why are we here? What does it mean to be alone in the world? Why do we need each other? Ambitious in scope, and illustrated in Culbard’s beautiful trademark style, this is a compelling and profound graphic novel that explores what it means to be alive.”

cleste

1380287_10151744652365617_530817262_n

580845_10151833861575617_241002705_n

More from Rob Davis’ The Motherless Oven.

Yes, we’ve already looked at it. But I make no apologies for posting every little thing I see of it, it looks fantastic:

1374877_10151639887605308_1963541415_n

New from First Second and James Kochalka:

“We’re putting out a brightly-colored, pizza-filled graphic novel by James Kochalka called The Glorkian Warrior Delivers a Pizza, and you guys, it’s crazy and awesome and filled with outer-space adventures. We just got the super-advance air-freighted books in from the printer, and they look great!  And brightly colored!  And full of pizza! You may be able to tell from this cover that the Glorkian Warrior isn’t actually very good at delivering pizza.”

Glorkian-Warrior_AdvanceBooks_FrontCover-550x733

GlorkianWarrior_AdvanceBooks_Int1-550x413

GlorkianWarrior_AdvanceBooks_Int2-550x405

 

Faith Erin Hicks (of the wonderful Friends With Boys and Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong) has a new project with First Second, a trilogy entitled The Nameless City. I do like the description from First Second, in the tradition of Jeff Smith’s Bone and Avatar: The Last Airbender.

An unlikely friendship forms between Nameless City native Rat, and Kai, whose country has recently conquered her city. The two of them must find common ground between their cultures and foil a sinister conspiracy. Hicks has created a beautiful and intricate world inspired by Central Asia and the Silk Road in which the besieged inhabitants of an ancient city are desperate to learn the secrets of the perished civilization which carved the city out of living rock.

The only bad news…. 2016 is the release date. Patience, patience.

onthewall

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Richard Bruton
- Started in comics retail aged 16 at Nostalgia & Comics, Birmingham. Now located in Yorkshire, he's written for the Forbidden Planet International Blog since 2007. Specialising in UK Comics and All-Ages comics, Richard's day job in a primary school allowed him to build the best children's graphic novel library in the country.

Comments are closed.